Pro WrestlingWWE

Competitors in the WWE World Heavyweight Championship Tournament Revealed

WWE recently announced the launch of a new WWE World Heavyweight Championship and, this past weekend, we learned exactly how that champion would be crowned. 

Triple H provided specifics on the World Heavyweight Championship plans for the upcoming week at the 2023 Backlash press conference in Puerto Rico. Starting tonight on Monday Night RAW, there will be a tournament, culminating in a final match at the 2023 Night of Champions event in Saudi Arabia. 

Two triple threat bouts have been scheduled for tonight’s show as part of a tournament, with the winners of those matches competing later in the evening. The format for Knoxville’s SmackDown on Friday features two more triple threats between their six competitors, followed by another singles match between the victors. The first champion will be decided by a matchup between the winners from each brand on May 27th at Night of Champions.

The new title was declared to be exclusive to RAW before to the tournament, so it stands to reason that any SmackDown wrestler who wins it will switch to the red brand.

Six RAW talent and six SmackDown talent are competing in the tournament for the new championship. Representing Monday Night RAW will be Seth Rollins, Finn Balor and Damian Priest of The Judgment Day, The Miz, Shinsuke Nakamura, and Cody Rhodes. SmackDown will be putting forward Austin Theory, AJ Styles, Bobby Lashley, Rey Mysterio, and Edge.

Who is your favourite to win the tournament? Do you agree with the cross-brand, triple Threat format? Let us know your thoughts in the comments.

Related posts

NJPW G1 Climax 33 Day 13 Results (August 5th, 2023)

Jeremy Walker

What’s next for 205 Live?

Jeremy Walker

The Main Event Podcast #171 // IMPACT Victory Road 2023

Jeremy Walker

Jeff Jarrett discusses GFW’s current and future plans in conference call

Jeremy Walker

Leave a Reply